Fashion / TIME WITH INTERESTING PEOPLE

Tim Walker – Storyteller Exhibition at Somerset House

Last weekend I went to go and see the Tim Walker exhibition, Storyteller, at Somerset House.

I was really impressed.

Alistair O’Neill, the curator along with Walker himself, have done an amazing job. I felt as though I was on a Tim Walker photoshoot: the white walls, writing above fireplaces and huge model aeroplanes.

It was the first time I really appreciated the English influence of his work and with all the emphasis on storytelling I felt a little like I was at the glamorous version of the Roald Dahl museum in Great Missingden.

One thing I learnt from looking at all the tags on the beautiful photographs; Tim Walker reuses his locations and set-ups. Reiterated something I had been thinking about: imagination is the thing to prioritise. Keep it simple and happy and then create something unbelievable with your mind.

Tim Walker said: “Sometimes when you’re taking a picture an extraordinary sense of luck and chance takes over and propels you to make pictures that you couldn’t in your wildest dreams have imagined. This is the magic of photography.

Sometimes, somewhere rather unlikely I take out my camera and see things through it I didn’t know I would see at the beginning of the day. I feel like an explorer. Thank you Tim Walker for reminding me that photography is a discovery.

And what mind-blowing discoveries he has made.

Go and see it everyone in London! It’s free!

We weren’t allowed to photograph in the exhibition so images are from http://showstudio.com and http://www.cocosteaparty.com

Leave a Reply

