Uncategorized

Who Can We Be? My Favourite Answers ILLUSTRATED

So just in time for Christmas, I have illustrated the three answers from the beautiful answers I received the form on my blog post What I do, What You Can Have.

I laughed, felt deeply moved and, most importantly, inspired by every one’s dreams. A great way to start the Christmas period and the imminent beginning of a new year.

So needless to say it was tough choosing just three to illustrate. If I had more time I would have illustrated them all. I have included a large range of them (all anonymous of course, as promised) in and around the winning illustrations for you to peruse and enjoy!

The three answers I picked were all chosen for completely different reasons…read on and find out…

*

WINNER

Who Can You Be?: A teapot. A sheep (covered in knitting), one of the cast of Downton Abbey.

I couldn’t stop laughing when I received this and slowly this image formed in my mind. I was even in hysterics drawing it looking at pictures of sheep for inspiration. Just me, or does anyone else find this hilarious?

*
Who Can You Be?: Childhood dream to be able to breathe under water so I’d definitely choose to be a mermaid!
*
Who Can You Be?: Be my unconscious self; be the inner child I never had a chance to be in my childhood; be loved
*

WINNER

Who Can You Be?: Corny, but for me it would have to be a shoot in some sort of period adventure/romance style. Beautiful dresses, woodland settings and New Forest ponies, oh yes!

This answer is close to my heart as I grew up in the New Forest area and the idea of the narrative element…let’s just say it ticked all of my boxes and brought back warm memories from the countryside.

*
Who Can You Be?: A little girl trapped in a woman’s body, faced with a boxful of keys and only one door.
*
Who Can You Be?: I admire those women in the Nike adverts, the strong athletes that work so hard on themselves to achieve something. and I just watched a Victorias secret show (you need to check it out Diana, it’s amazing!!!) and I would like to be a VS angel for a day. I was thinking that being a sea anemone could be quite cool and I think I would also make a great panda bear.
*
Who Can You Be?: Recreating the scene from Priscilla Queen of the Desert when they stand on the summit of Kings Rock in full drag!
*

WINNER

Who Can You Be?: I would want to be honest. I never let people know  or see my insecurities or fears, or the occasional dark moods that can happen to me. Sometimes because I don’t want to worry people, but ironically also because despite being a pessimist I’m always a little bit hopeful. Seems to be better articulated by the song ‘I See a Darkness’.

I was touched by this answer and although it talks of darkness I saw the hope and the promise of freedom of expression. This is why I incorporated the eagle and the mountains, because that soaring towards hope is very close. Also I thought it would be an IMMENSE backdrop for a photoshoot: mountains, eagles and honesty. One day, one day…

*

So a big THANK YOU to everyone who took part in this I have really been inspired by your answers and it has reinforced inside me the reason why I love art in all its forms: the dreams and the expression and in this case the theatre!

Have a wonderful Christmas and don’t forget to check out my Little Red Envelope photoshoot-gifts if you’re still stuck for a present or email for a Christmas brochure. (SHAMELESS self-promotion, I know)

Love Diana
xxx

One thought on “Who Can We Be? My Favourite Answers ILLUSTRATED

Leave a Reply

